Whip Your Hurr

I wish I was a little ballsier with my hair color. I have only dyed it weirdly once (bright, cherry-berry Ariel red), and it was an accident (I was trying to go auburn). My natural hair color is this weird dirty blonde-gray combo, so I’ve been highlighting it since basically forever. But then I had the classic movie-like First Big Breakup and revenge-dyed my hair like, slutty blonde–way lighter than my natural color. Which was fine, until the horrible roots grew in like five inches.

So. I just re-dyed my hair (the terrible Breakup du juor was a while ago–three different guys ago, in fact–but my hair grows ridiculously slowly) to something kind of (but not really) resembling my natural color (who the fuck would buy “ugly gray-blonde”? They don’t sell that shit in stores). But I can’t help wishing I would just pull a Cowardly-Lion-at-the-end-of-The-Wizard-of-Oz and be brave for once in my life. And do something crazy, like blue highlights.

I mean, this?

She totally pulls it off. But one of the biggest reasons I’m too lazy to dye my hair a crazy color is because…

a.) I may be the laziest person who has ever lived (well, okay, I come in second to those people to have to be cut out of their trailers, maybe), and…

b.) I’m broke.

Those two things don’t really make me want to spend $$$ on dye every, like, month. And then there’s c.), I’m a huge chicken.

But I was thinking…if it’s just highlights, and not all-over color, maybe it won’t be so awful when it grows out? And so now I’m thinking I want pale turquoise or teal highlights underneath my hair. Stupid? Probably. Awesome? Also probably. Kinda like this, but a little lighter:

Like this gorgeous color, but only little pieces of it:

The big question is, will I do it? And the big answer is probably not, because I suck, but at least I can drool over hair I will never have. C’est la vie. I’m just going to go binge-drink and fishtail braid while crying.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 19:29:36

    I think you should do it! I used to dye my hair crazy all the time, but I’ve been blonde for a few years, and now I’m worried 25 is too old for wild colors :-/ I’ll do it if you will!!

    Reply

    • thewildhearts
      Nov 06, 2011 @ 13:18:53

      First of all, 25 is definitely not too old for crazy colors–or too old for anything, you’re still a spring chicken. And secondly, I am the regular kind of chicken–the kind that’s too scared to dye its feathers. (I’m going to stop with the whole chicken metaphor now, okay? Okay.) I’m thinking I might get some super-platinum highlights, though, just to brighten up the mane a bit. Or maybe red highlights underneath? Only time (and my level of drunkenness while shopping for hair dye) will tell.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

