England > America

I kind of wish I had grown up in England. First of all, I would have a cool British accent, and then I could come to America and seduce everyone with my foreign wiles (there’s no way that works in reverse, right? American accents are just not sexy. But here’s hoping some hot rugby-playing Brits disagree with me). Secondly, I would have a cool British accent. And thirdly, I’d have a cool British accent.

No, but seriously, if there is anything I have learned from the obviously reliable sources of the Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging books and UK Skins, being an English teenager is the best thing ever. There are dance clubs you can actually get into without being eighteen, people pop MDMA like Tic-Tacs, and everyone’s parents are too busy having bad teeth doing their own thing to notice any of the aforementioned activties.

I mean, maybe all my fictional sources are lying to me (GASP!), but it just seems a lot cooler than boring ol’ America, where the craziest thing I did in my teen years was get drunk at a field party. (Okay, that’s a balls-out lie, but I made my own crazy fun; it wasn’t just sitting around waiting for me like those spoilt Brits.)

Also, I’m not sure if I mentioned this, but THEY HAVE BRITISH ACCENTS. Which is cool.

Seriously, though, I want to go interview some British person who was once a teenager and ask them if all this is true. And then I would probably try to score some hard drugs off of them, probably for free, by saying American sayings and seducing them. (Hmm. Um, “Apple pie! Football, but not your kind!”) Welcome to the U. S. of A.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tony
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 22:40:59

    I am an ex rugby playing Welshman with a lovely Celtic lilt, sometimes it drives the ladies crazy, but often it leaves them standing there dumbfounded saying, “what did you just say??”
    I think you have a great blog, just started reading it…love the kinky post, and your not…it’s very sexy

    Reply

    • thewildhearts
      Apr 04, 2011 @ 13:53:28

      Well thank you. And I hereby nominate you Sexiest Reader if you do, indeed, have a Celtic accent, because mmmm.

      Reply

      • Tony
        Apr 04, 2011 @ 22:50:52

        I forgot to say I now live in the USA which is why people have a hard time understanding me…….I like the sexiest reader nomination, although I don’t think I have earned it for just one post. It’s hard to prove my Celtic accent in typed words though, so you’ll have to take my word for it now isnit cariad… 🙂

Leave a Reply

