Prom, Anyone?

There should be proms for grown-ups.

I mean, seriously. Why is it that once you graduate high school, there aren’t special parties for no reason? Being an adult is great, don’t get me wrong. But there is a big difference between wearing a little black dress out for cocktails and feeling like a princess in a giant gown. And yeah, you get to do that when you get married, but you can only tie the knot like ten times, and around number five, people aren’t going to RSVP. So there should just be like a yearly Big People Fun Dress Up Party Dance Night (or BPFDUPDN).

Besides, teenagers can’t appreciate prom. Half of them are totally ruining their photos with hideous braces-covered smiles, and the other half are too busy making out with awkward boys/girls in braces to really soak up the moment. And they can’t even drink during–some shots would really make it easier for the awkward high school set to hold each other’s clammy hands while they “dance.”

Long story short, I would like an excuse to wear a ball gown. And since I’m not friends with anybody who throws “balls” (well, I am, but not the kind of ball you’re thinking of), I would like someone to create this event.

And if you’re saying, “Fuck that, my high school prom sucked,” well, don’t you think it’ll much better with booze and girls who actually put out? Plus, you don’t have to worry about your parents hearing you come, which is always a bonus.

WHOOOOOO, I’m gonna start online shopping for my BPFDUPDN dress. Someone else take care of the pesky details like the venue and the invites, ‘kay?

I think I'm buying this one.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jim
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 08:37:03

    I skipped my high-school proms, but you know, I think I’d totally go to a formal dance today with a sweetheart. Because you’re right, I would totally enjoy it today, because I have the self-confidence to pull it off now!

    Reply

  2. allisrose
    May 01, 2011 @ 18:48:20

    i would definitely go to a grown up prom because i love to dance and dress up, but i dont think my high school prom was the way you described proms in general, it was actually pretty awesome 😛

    Reply

    • thewildhearts
      May 01, 2011 @ 20:10:39

      Yeah, my prom was pretty fun, but I definitely saw a lot of people having the exact awkward experience that bad teen movies are made of, haha. Either way, I want an excuse to put on a pretty dress and get champagne wasted. 😛

      Reply

Leave a Reply

